Democracy is not easy: Let it evolve and thrive

Democracy is not easy.  History clearly shows that successful democracies take time. Democracy in England can be traced back to

How evidence-based policymaking can help Nepal control air pollution

Air pollution is a silent, yet pervasive threat to human health, and its impact is felt acutely in regions like

In Nepal, why has implementing the diplomatic code of conduct become a tough job?

Kathmandu: Narayan Kaji Shrestha wears many hats. He is the leader from the ruling Maoist Center and he currently serves

Impact of economic tourism policies on local communities

Economic tourism policies, designed to attract visitors and boost local economies, are a double-edged sword. On one side, they can

Techno-Medusa: A modern myth for the posthuman era

The global push to grant artificial intelligence citizenship is gaining traction, proposing that AI should be endowed with rights to

Nepal announces 15-men squad for T20I World Cup

Photo courtesy of Cricket Association of Nepal.

Kathmandu: The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on Wednesday. 

Rohit Paudel will lead the side in the mega event, scheduled to take place in the West Indies and the USA from June 2–30. Bibek Yadav has missed out on the squad, while Pratish GC, Sundeep Jora, and Anil Sah have retained their places. 

Aarif Sheikh, Binod Bhandari, Aakash Chand, and Lokesh Bam are not part of the squad. Nepal is placed in Group D of the tournament alongside the Netherlands and three other test-playing nations – Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and South Africa. They will commence their campaign on June 4 against the Netherlands. 

This marks Nepal’s second participation in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, with their last appearance back in2014 in Bangladesh. Nepal secured their place in the tournament by finishing as the runner-up in the Asia Qualifier.

Nepal squad:

Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Rajbanshi, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara, Sagar Dhakal, Kamal Singh Airee